_________

_________

NRA

  HOME

  contents

   classes

  firearms

   ammo

  holsters

accessories

    more

    links

   portal

 contact us

 ________

 ________

 Gunthorp

  Volume

      I

 ________

 ________

 

Gunthorp

Utah Carry Application

top    back to More

Anatomy Tactics Drills - MN Application - MN Relevant Laws - UT Application - Q&A's - Quotes - Late Breaking News

Force Statutes

Currently, the Utah permit is honored by 30+ other states.  It is valid for 5 years.  As of 9-1-07, the initial permit costs $35 plus $16.00 to process your fingerprints, and a 5 year renewal currently costs $16.

Utah BCI website

Where to Apply:

Apply by mail to:
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Taylorsville, Utah 84129
801-965-4445

 

 

Applications will be accepted in person from 8:00 am until 5:00 p.m. at the above location. You may download an application http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/forms.html#Firearms  here. (Requires Adobe Reader. To download the FREE Adobe Reader, visit the Adobe® web site.)

What Will it Cost to Apply?

A non-refundable fee of $51.00 must be included with your application. This fee consists of $35.00 for application and permit processing and $16.00 charged by the F.B.I. to process your fingerprint cards. Please make checks and money orders payable to the "Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification".

Who is Eligible?

*Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah are:

Applicant must be at least 21 years of age

Proof of good character...whereas the applicant;

°has not been convicted of a felony;

°has not been convicted of any crime of violence;

°has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;

°has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;

°has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;

°has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;

°has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed

*A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants

What Must Accompany the Application?

1. A Photocopy of your Driver License

2.

Photograph. One recent color photograph of passport quality. *Photos may be taken at BCI.

3.

Fingerprint Card. One fingerprint card. Must be filled out completely. Writing and prints must be legible. Fingerprint should be taken by a trained fingerprint technician. Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application.

 

*Fingerprint services are available from BCI or may be offered through your local law enforcement agency. There are private businesses that also offer this service. Check in your local phone directory. Photos and fingerprints may be obtained at BCI (3888 W 5400 S, Taylorsville, UT. The cost is $13.00 for 1 photo and $13.00 for up to 3 fingerprint cards.

4.

 

5

Weapon Familiarity Certification. Applicants must complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI. The course must be completed before you apply for a permit. Please have your instructor complete the certification information on the application. View a list of certified instructors.  Gunthorp Instructor F.Gardner Behrends is Utah Instructor #  I 101157

Proof of resident permit from your home state.

Photos can generally be taken at Walgreen's or any passport photo establishment.  Fingerprints are generally available by appointment at local police and sheriff's departments.  For example, the St Louis Co, MN Sheriff's web site offers this information.

 

Currently these states honor the UT non-resident permit:

   *Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas,  *Delaware, *Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, *Louisiana, Minnesota, *Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska,  *North Carolina, *North Dakota, *Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, *Texas,  Vermont, Virginia, *Washington, *Wyoming

A * indicates this state is in addition to those which honor the MN permit.

 

Note: This list is subject to change, so be sure to check with each state before you plan to carry there.  Also, you must obey the carry laws in each of these states which may differ from those of MN.  Please see Gun Laws (laws and reciprocity of other states) or http:www.handgunlaw.us for more maps and details.

These states do not recognize non-resident permits:  CO, MI, SC, NH, FL, KS, WV

 

 

Utah Carry Permit Home Page

Utah Permit Application Form (PDF)

UT Training Outline

Frequently Asked Questions

Know the Utah Laws

Regulation of Weapons

Where You Cannot Carry

UT Concealed Laws and Rules

 

Utah Force Statutes

top    back to More

Anatomy Tactics Drills - MN Application - MN Relevant Laws - UT Application - Q&A's - Quotes - Late Breaking News

Relevant Utah and Federal Codes

Utah Concealed Weapon Act selected Codes

 

76-2-401.   Justification as defense -- When allowed.
     (1) Conduct which is justified is a defense to prosecution for any offense based on the conduct. The defense of justification may be claimed:
     (a) when the actor's conduct is in defense of persons or property under the circumstances described in Sections 76-2-402 through 76-2-406 of this part;
     (b) when the actor's conduct is reasonable and in fulfillment of his duties as a governmental officer or employee;
     (c) when the actor's conduct is reasonable discipline of minors by parents, guardians, teachers, or other persons in loco parentis, as limited by Subsection (2);
     (d) when the actor's conduct is reasonable discipline of persons in custody under the laws of the state; or
     (e) when the actor's conduct is justified for any other reason under the laws of this state.
     (2) The defense of justification under Subsection (1)(c) is not available if the offense charged involves causing serious bodily injury, as defined in Section 76-1-601, serious physical injury, as defined in Section 76-5-109, or the death of the minor.

 
76-2-402.   Force in defense of person -- Forcible felony defined.
     (1) A person is justified in threatening or using force against another when and to the extent that he or she reasonably believes that force is necessary to defend himself or a third person against such other's imminent use of unlawful force. However, that person is justified in using force intended or likely to cause death or serious bodily injury only if he or she reasonably believes that force is necessary to prevent death or serious bodily injury to himself or a third person as a result of the other's imminent use of unlawful force, or to prevent the commission of a forcible felony.
     (2) A person is not justified in using force under the circumstances specified in Subsection (1) if he or she:
     (a) initially provokes the use of force against himself with the intent to use force as an excuse to inflict bodily harm upon the assailant;
     (b) is attempting to commit, committing, or fleeing after the commission or attempted commission of a felony; or
     (c) (i) was the aggressor or was engaged in a combat by agreement, unless he withdraws from the encounter and effectively communicates to the other person his intent to do so and, notwithstanding, the other person continues or threatens to continue the use of unlawful force; and
     (ii) for purposes of Subsection (i) the following do not, by themselves, constitute "combat by agreement":
     (A) voluntarily entering into or remaining in an ongoing relationship; or
     (B) entering or remaining in a place where one has a legal right to be.
     (3) A person does not have a duty to retreat from the force or threatened force described in Subsection (1) in a place where that person has lawfully entered or remained, except as provided in Subsection (2)(c).
     (4) For purposes of this section, a forcible felony includes aggravated assault, mayhem, aggravated murder, murder, manslaughter, kidnapping, and aggravated kidnapping, rape, forcible sodomy, rape of a child, object rape, object rape of a child, sexual abuse of a child, aggravated sexual abuse of a child, and aggravated sexual assault as defined in Title 76, Chapter 5, and arson, robbery, and burglary as defined in Title 76, Chapter 6. Any other felony offense which involves the use of force or violence against a person so as to create a substantial danger of death or serious bodily injury also constitutes a forcible felony. Burglary of a vehicle, defined in Section 76-6-204, does not constitute a forcible felony except when the vehicle is occupied at the time unlawful entry is made or attempted.
     (5) In determining imminence or reasonableness under Subsection (1), the trier of fact may consider, but is not limited to, any of the following factors:
     (a) the nature of the danger;
     (b) the immediacy of the danger;
     (c) the probability that the unlawful force would result in death or serious bodily injury;
     (d) the other's prior violent acts or violent propensities; and
     (e) any patterns of abuse or violence in the parties' relationship.

 
  76-2-403.   Force in arrest.
     Any person is justified in using any force, except deadly force, which he reasonably believes to be necessary to effect an arrest or to defend himself or another from bodily harm while making an arrest.

 
76-2-404.   Peace officer's use of deadly force.
     (1) A peace officer, or any person acting by his command in his aid and assistance, is justified in using deadly force when:
     (a) the officer is acting in obedience to and in accordance with the judgment of a competent court in executing a penalty of death under Subsection 77-18-5.5(3) or (4);
     (b) effecting an arrest or preventing an escape from custody following an arrest, where the officer reasonably believes that deadly force is necessary to prevent the arrest from being defeated by escape; and
     (i) the officer has probable cause to believe that the suspect has committed a felony offense involving the infliction or threatened infliction of death or serious bodily injury; or
     (ii) the officer has probable cause to believe the suspect poses a threat of death or serious bodily injury to the officer or to others if apprehension is delayed; or
     (c) the officer reasonably believes that the use of deadly force is necessary to prevent death or serious bodily injury to the officer or another person.
     (2) If feasible, a verbal warning should be given by the officer prior to any use of deadly force under Subsection (1)(b) or (1)(c).

 
76-2-405.   Force in defense of habitation.
     (1) A person is justified in using force against another when and to the extent that he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other's unlawful entry into or attack upon his habitation; however, he is justified in the use of force which is intended or likely to cause death or serious bodily injury only if:
     (a) the entry is made or attempted in a violent and tumultuous manner, surreptitiously, or by stealth, and he reasonably believes that the entry is attempted or made for the purpose of assaulting or offering personal violence to any person, dwelling, or being in the habitation and he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent the assault or offer of personal violence; or
     (b) he reasonably believes that the entry is made or attempted for the purpose of committing a felony in the habitation and that the force is necessary to prevent the commission of the felony.
     (2) The person using force or deadly force in defense of habitation is presumed for the purpose of both civil and criminal cases to have acted reasonably and had a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury if the entry or attempted entry is unlawful and is made or attempted by use of force, or in a violent and tumultuous manner, or surreptitiously or by stealth, or for the purpose of committing a felony.

 
76-2-406.   Force in defense of property.
     A person is justified in using force, other than deadly force, against another when and to the extent that he reasonably believes that force is necessary to prevent or terminate criminal interference with real property or personal property:
     (1) Lawfully in his possession; or
     (2) Lawfully in the possession of a member of his immediate family; or
     (3) Belonging to a person whose property he has a legal duty to protect.

 
   76-2-407.   Deadly force in defense of persons on real property.
     (1) A person is justified in using force intended or likely to cause death or serious bodily injury against another in his defense of persons on real property other than his habitation if:
     (a) he is in lawful possession of the real property;
     (b) he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other person's trespass onto the real property;
     (c) the trespass is made or attempted by use of force or in a violent and tumultuous manner; and
     (d) (i) the person reasonably believes that the trespass is attempted or made for the purpose of committing violence against any person on the real property and he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent personal violence; or
     (ii) the person reasonably believes that the trespass is made or attempted for the purpose of committing a forcible felony as defined in Section 76-2-402 that poses imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury to a person on the real property and that the force is necessary to prevent the commission of that forcible felony.
     (2) The person using deadly force in defense of persons on real property under Subsection (1) is presumed for the purpose of both civil and criminal cases to have acted reasonably and had a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury if the trespass or attempted trespass is unlawful and is made or attempted by use of force, or in a violent and tumultuous manner, or for the purpose of committing a forcible felony.

 
76-10-506.   Threatening with or using dangerous weapon in fight or quarrel.
     Every person, except those persons described in Section 76-10-503, who, not in necessary self defense in the presence of two or more persons, draws or exhibits any dangerous weapon in an angry and threatening manner or unlawfully uses the same in any fight or quarrel is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

R722-300-12. Requirement to Notify Peace Officer When Stopped.

When a concealed firearm permit holder or certificate of qualification holder is stopped for questioning by a peace officer based on reasonable suspicion in accordance with Section 77-7-15 and the holder has a concealed firearm in his/her possession, the holder shall immediately advise the peace officer that he/she is a lawful holder and has a concealed firearm in his/her possession.

 

76-10-505.5.   Possession of a dangerous weapon, firearm, or sawed-off shotgun on or about school premises -- Penalties.
     (1) A person may not possess any dangerous weapon, firearm, or sawed-off shotgun, as those terms are defined in Section 76-10-501, at a place that the person knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is on or about school premises as defined in Subsection 76-3-203.2(1).

 

76-10-511.   Possession of loaded weapon at residence authorized.
     Except for persons described in Section 76-10-503, a person may have a loaded firearm at his place of residence, including any temporary residence or camp

 

 76-10-528.   Carrying a dangerous weapon while under influence of alcohol or drugs unlawful.
     (1) Any person who carries a dangerous weapon while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance as defined in Section 58-37-2 is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. Under the influence means the same level of influence or blood or breath alcohol concentration as provided in Subsections 41-6a-502(1)(a)(i) through (iii).
     (2) It is not a defense to prosecution under this section that the person:
     (a) is licensed in the pursuit of wildlife of any kind; or
     (b) has a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm.

 

76-10-530.   Trespass with a firearm in a house of worship or private residence -- Notice -- Penalty.
     (1) A person, including a person licensed to carry a concealed firearm pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Weapon Act, after notice has been given as provided in Subsection (2) that firearms are prohibited, may not knowingly and intentionally:
     (a) transport a firearm into:
     (i) a house of worship; or
     (ii) a private residence

 

top    back to More

Anatomy Tactics Drills - MN Application - MN Relevant Laws - UT Application - Q&A's - Quotes - Late Breaking News

Force Statutes       Relevant Utah and Federal Codes

 Web Pages:   HOME - Contents - Classes - Permit - Advanced - Expert - Reloading - Schedules - Firearms - Safety - Pistol - Rifle - Shotgun - Black Powder - Pneumatic - Ammo - Basics - Specifications - Pricelist - Holsters - Styles - Badges - Accessories - Gun Cases & Safes - Cleaning Tips -  Knives - Reloading & Casting - Black Powder - Optics & Lights - More - Anatomy, tactics, drills - Carry Permit Info MN - Relevant MN Statutes - Carry Permit Info UT - Carry Permit Info FL Carry Permit Info WI - Q and A's  - Quotes - Late Breaking News - Links - Portal

    Arm the republic with dependable quality, value, and knowledge.  

Gunthorp  Duluth, MN email: info@gunthorp.com